Bible Passage For The Day 9-20-2023

The Act of Sin

Hosea 4:6-10

My people are destroyed for lack of knowledge.
Because you have rejected knowledge,
I also will reject you from ministering as My priest.
Since you have forgotten the law of your God,
I Myself also will forget your children.
The more they multiplied, the more they sinned against Me;
I will change their glory into disgrace.
They eat the sin of My people
And lift up their soul toward their iniquity.
And it will be like people, like priest;
So I will punish them for their ways
And cause their deeds to return to them.
10 They will eat, but not be satisfied;
They will play the harlot, but not break forth in number,
Because they have forsaken Yahweh to keep harlotry.

The Call to Repent

Hosea 14:1-3

Return, O Israel, to Yahweh your God,
For you have stumbled in your iniquity.
Take words with you and return to Yahweh.
Say to Him, “Forgive all iniquity
And take what is good,
That we may pay in full the fruit of our lips.
Assyria will not save us;
We will not ride on horses,
Nor will we say again, ‘Our god,’
To the work of our hands;
For in You the orphan finds compassion.”