Bible Passage For The Day 9-17-2023

The Act of Sin

Jeremiah 2:31-35

O generation, behold the word of Yahweh.
Have I been a wilderness to Israel
Or a land of thick darkness?
Why do My people say, ‘We are free to roam;
We will no longer come to You’?
32 Can a virgin forget her ornaments,
Or a bride her attire?
Yet My people have forgotten Me
Days without number.
33 How well you prepare your way
To seek love!
Therefore even the wicked women
You have taught your ways.
34 Also on your skirts is found
The lifeblood of the innocent needy;
You did not find them breaking in.
But in spite of all these things,
35 Yet you said, ‘I am innocent;
Surely His anger is turned away from me.’
Behold, I will enter into judgment with you
Because you say, ‘I have not sinned.’

The Call to Repent

Jeremiah 3:12-14

Go and call out these words toward the north and say,
‘Return, faithless Israel,’ declares Yahweh;
‘I will not look upon you in anger.
For I am One of lovingkindness,’ declares Yahweh;
‘I will not be angry forever.
13 Only acknowledge your iniquity,
That you have transgressed against Yahweh your God
And have scattered your ways of harlotry to the strangers under every green tree,
And you have not listened to My voice,’ declares Yahweh.
14 ‘Return, O faithless sons,’ declares Yahweh;
‘For I am a master to you,
And I will take you one from a city and two from a family,
And I will bring you to Zion.’